Welcome to Nashville

16 Apr

After a 21 hour mammoth journey that went from London to Dallas to Nashville I have finally arrived in Nashville, Tennessee!

First up the journey itself. Tubes were suspended to Heathrow which sucked, but being a sensible traveler I made it in time. The flight from London to Dallas was pretty straightforward, happily I’d remembered the crucial ingredients to a successful flight.

I passed the time by watching David O. Russell’s ‘The Fighter’ which genuinely had me gripping my plastic tray table in the upright position. I thought it was incredible. Then I tried to stomach ‘Dinner for Schmucks’ and ‘Little Fockers’ but instead resorted to playing Crash Bandicoot and yawning.

The lovely lady sat next to me lent me a pen and sounded EXACTLY like Marge Gunderson from Fargo.

“Here ya go hon. Yoo knock yourself oot”

Excellent.

Next I got off at Dallas only to discover a huge queue for customs and only 45 minutes to board my connecting flight. Needless to say it was mental, I ran for miles with my shoelaces untied, flinging two bags and my belt around (hadn’t had time to redress myself after security). I then boarded a Sky Train to my Terminal and hit the desk, in true Hollywood fashion, with one minute to spare. Panting, red and sweating like a loon, I handed over my boarding card, a smile plastered to my face.

“You’re in the right place. About two hours to departure. Sorry for the delay.”

Apparently a Tornado had struck in Nashville. A Tornado…

Two hours later I boarded my flight to Nashville.

This was pretty much uneventful, aside from the fact that everyone seemed really welcoming and friendly. I was really starting to look forward to exploring the city.

As we came down to land, a huge thunderstorm hit the clouds outside, illuminating them in bursts, it was really cool. The man next to me was watching ‘Taken’ with Liam Neeson so he didn’t seem too bothered.

When I arrived I was driven to my hotel by a man named Robert, born and raised in Nashville. It was a chance meeting and me being awake for nearly 20 straight hours, I immediately obliged when he offered to take me in his cab.

We drove downtown and cruised along Broadway, which houses, or so I’m told, some of the finest live bluegrass and country music venues in America. Can’t wait to check them out.

Finally I arrived at the check in desk, absolutely shattered when I ran into Joe, a guy that works at the hotel. He told me that a bunch of people from the festival are staying here and asked a bit about the film. It was then that I started getting really excited, on Sunday I get to see Disco for the first time in front of a paying audience. What with all the commotion I’d almost forgotten.

With this rush of adrenaline I hit my pillow and smashed into sleep.

Today I’m gonna go grab some breakfast, go down to the festival and see whats happening. Tonight I’m seeing Takeshi Miike’s new film ’13 Assassins’. I loved ‘Audition’ so I have high hopes.

Stay tuned for more gossip!

Luke x

One Response to “Welcome to Nashville”

  1. Dean April 17, 2011 at 3:19 am #

    Have a Gooden in Nashville and hope the film goes down well.

    Great detective work there Norm

Leave a Reply

